All Souls – The day to pray for our dead.

Today is All Souls Day, the day the Church invites us to pray for our deceased relatives and friend who may not yet be in heaven.  Normally this is a time I pray for people like my Godmother, or priests I have known, or people I have mourned but the ache of their loss is no longer immediate. This year we have lost several young people from our community, and I will keep them in prayer.

But then, this week, we received news of a student’s death.  I had met him only in passing, but still it hits home, to lose someone so young, with his life ahead of him.  Students, friends, faculty are in mourning.   Please pray for all who are in mourning, and pray for Tyler.

For some reason, this R.E.M song is stuck in my head, so I thought I would share it for all those who are hurting.  Remember you are not alone.

 

Leave a Reply

