Favorite Prayers 4

If you are Catholic, you have prayed it.  If you went to Catholic school, you probably started or ended the day with it. Even, in high school when I had drifted away from the Church, if I got anxious or nervous or had a bout of insomnia, I would hold on to this prayer:

Hail Mary,
Full of Grace,
The Lord is with you.
Blessed are you among women
and blessed it the fruit of your womb, Jesus
Holy Mary
Mother of God,
Pray for us sinners, now
and at the hour of our death.
Amen.

A funny but true story: I prayed this prayer wrong until I moved to the States and heard it in English for the first time.  You see, in Dutch the word for sinners is “zondaars”, but  instead of “zondaars” I prayed “zondags” which means “on Sundays.”  I always thought it odd that we asked that Mary to pray only on Sundays … because then, how did the “now and in the hour of our death” fit in.  Ah well, I finally learned the right words and it is a wonderfully powerful prayer to request Mary’s intercession.

Leave a Reply

