7 Quick Takes — Favorite Prayers 12-18

So this week is spring break and I got busy with spring cleaning my office (read: dumping ancient files out of my filing cabinet with the hope that I will actually file instead instead of pile current stuff).   I think what I really need is one of those old fashioned post office mail sorting cabinets, so I can just file my current projects in their own little slot.  Anyway, in the process of spring break cleaning, I managed to get behind on my intention of sharing a daily favorite prayer each day during lent. So, here we go with seven little ones I really like:

1) The Sign of the Cross:

In the name of the Father,
of the Son and
of the Holy Spirit

while making the sign of the Cross over our body  (right handed, touching the forehead, belly-button, left shoulder, right shoulder.)  Many of our prayers start with the Sign of the Cross, (as one priest told the story, he used to thing of it as a toggle switch, prayer-on, prayer-off ) but it is a prayer in its own right.  It reminds us that we are Christ and in the Sign of the Cross we pledge once again to take up our own cross everyday and to follow Christ.  We are Christ’s and everything we do, we should do in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

2) In that same spirit, I pray a little offering prayer every day:

I am all yours,
and everything I possess,
I offer to you, O lovable Jesus,
through Mary, your Holy Mother.

3) Another daily prayer, that I pray before all meals is:

Bless us O Lord,
and these Thy gifts
which we have received from thy bounty
Through Christ, our Lord
Amen.

4) And I pray for vocations:

O Jesus, eternal Shepherd of our souls,
send good laborers into your harvest.

5) When I drive, I usually pray the Guardian Angel prayer:

Angel of God, my guardian dear
to whom His love entrusts me here
ever this day (night) be at my side
to light and guard, to rule and guide.
Amen

6) Also, I pray an Act of Love, to remind myself of the greatest of the commandments, which, in case you missed it, was the Gospel of the day today:

O my God,
I love You above all things with my whole heart and soul,
because you are all-good and worthy of all love.
I love my neighbor as myself for the love of You.
I forgive all who have injured me and ask pardon of all whom I have injured.
Amen.

7) And aware that all things come from God, a prayer I say repeatedly during the day, trusting in his promise:

By myself, I can do nothing
with You I can do all things
For love of You I want to do all things
To You be Honor and Glory
and to me, Heaven.

I hope everyone is having a blessed and fruitful Lenten season.

Leave a Reply

