Monday Musings: Don’t Be a Robot

Bless me, readers, for I have sinned.  I’ve never confessed to you before.  I am That Friend.

You know, that person that you forward emails to or share a good video with…the one that you know NEVER watches them?  That’s me.  But it’s something I’m working on in myself, and so when a friend of mine posted this video, it took me a couple days to watch it but I did.  And I LOVED it.

 

How many times have we all stood in church mumbling the words of the Creed?  Honestly, we sound like a bunch of mourners at a funeral.  I was told once by a police crisis negotiator that something like only 8-10% of a conversation consists of the actual words people say.  The rest has to do with tone of voice, body language, things like that.  So, taking that into consideration, a church full of people on any given Sunday saying,  “I believe in God the Father, the Almighty…” really comes across more like “I’m super bored and can’t wait until I can get out of here for brunch”.

Really?!!!????

Brunch!??!?!?!?!???

Now, I love me some stuffed french toast as much as the next gal, but we are reciting what we believe.  What we’ve committed to.  What is supposed to give us strength and sustenance day in and day out.   Not legal script at the bottom of an advertisement.

Humor me: bust out traditional wedding vows right now.  Even if you’re not married, you probably know them.  “I blah blah blah, take you blah blah blah to be my lawfully wedded husband/wife.  To have and to hold from this day forward….”  Now tell me, how many weddings have you been to where the bride and groom repeated those vows–which we all probably know about as well as the Creed–with a complete lack of passion?  Probably none.  When you love someone, when you’re truly committed and you believe what it is you’re saying, you don’t just mumble it out; you proclaim it!

So why do we all sound like robots?  We’re proclaiming the greatest love story of all mankind, the most incredible heaven-meets-earth event in human history.  And we say it with less passion than we use when describing last night’s crappy call by a referee at the Pats game.  Come. on.

 

Don’t be a robot.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Don’t Be a Robot

  1. Pingback: Holy Week in Two Minutes | The Newman Center at Keene State College

  2. Pingback: Ho, Ho, Homoousios! (Or, How One Measly Letter Made a Really Big Mess and Saint Nicholas Tried to Clean it Up) | The Newman Center at Keene State College

Leave a Reply

