Twelve Days of Christmas, Day 8: Eight Maids a Milking

“On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me eight maids a milking…”

Symbolism: These eight ladies really stand for the eight beatitudes–the eight blessings at the beginning of the Sermon on the Mount, found in the Gospel of Matthew, chapter five.  The beatitudes are:

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Your Mission: Pick the beatitude that you feel most connected to and write it on your bathroom mirror!  I’m serious.  If you use a dry erase marker, it’ll come off with some Windex, and it makes a nice pick-me-up for when you’re feeling particularly meek, merciful, or persecuted.

Bonus Points:  Read the entire Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5-7).  It’s basically a handbook on how to live a Christian life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s